Final thoughts on my OPW experience

It’s official! GTG’s calendar plugin is finally ready! Just in time, since today is the last day of my OPW internship.
My pull request is under review, and (hopefully) it will be merged soon into the main branch.

If you are interested, as soon as the merge is complete, you’ll be able to update your GTG version and play around with the plugin. If you do, please let me know what you think… If you like it, or if you don’t, if you have any suggestion or even if you find a bug (and please file a bug report in this case).

It’s hard to show all the functionalities in a gif, but here is a small sample of what you can expect from the plugin:

calendar_view_end

I had a great time working as an OPW intern and with GTG, and I hope you can benefit from my work.

Thank you to GNOME and all the OPW organizers for making this all happen! And special thanks to Izidor Matušov for mentoring me during this period! I’ve learned sooo much and had a lot of fun! =]

PS: If you are a woman and are thinking about whether or not you should apply for the next round of OPW, my advice is: TOTALLY DO! I never imagined I could do all that I did when I first thought about applying, and I almost gave up thinking I could never work with open source. I’m glad I didn’t, because it was a great and rewarding experience.

One thought on “Final thoughts on my OPW experience

  1. Great work you’ve done! Just a thought on an additional feature: wouldn’t it be great if you could set up dependency conditions, e.g. task B cannot be started until task A is completed, so that if you change the due date on task A, task B moves accordingly. If you could find a way to implement that, you would have a simply awesome project-management-tool! Especially if you also use it in conjunction with project hamster. All that’s missing then is caldav-support for GTG, as many people have already requested, and then you can use it with ownCloud, sync to your co-workers, and just about ditch Microsoft Project or similar software.. 🙂

Have something to say?

